Daily Dose: The Job Hunt

Let’s face it. No one particularly likes job hunting. No one really likes being unemployed. It would be great if we could just have our dream job with a snap of the fingers…but alas, the world is not a wish-granting factory.

While this post is about job hunting, I am in no position to tell anyone how to go about seeking a job. Heck, I don’t even have much of an approach for myself. But this is my perspective on how to find a job, and so far, I think it’s been working out alright.

From what I see so far in my peers, there are the jobs that people want just for the money, and then there are the ones that are career-oriented. But for me, this isn’t how I classify jobs. Being in university, I feel am in possibly the best time in my life to be job hunting – because I’m not expected to actually have a job. I could just as well not even look around for one, but university (and life) is all about collecting experience, and I aim to diversify my experiences as much as possible, in every possible way. Hence, I job hunt with experience in mind, and everything else – even money – is secondary.

It’s kind of like trying to make a friend because you know they’re rich, versus trying to make a friend because you genuinely want to have a good time with them. Just like the friend in the first scenario would be really offended, so would a hiring manager if you wanted a position for money and nothing else.

But like I said, I’m in no position to tell anyone how to approach job-hunting. I just wanted to share my own perspective on this, so I hope I’ve given a slightly different way to look at this topic.

If this is applicable to you, happy job hunting. And may the odds be ever in your favour!

Posted on June 14, 2012, in Daily Dose, Inspiration, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment