Featured Fridays: Joel Kim

Ever wonder who does the wicked videos for Kollaboration? Meet him here!

Why do you want to be part of Kollaboration?

I want to be a part of Kollaboration because it’s a great organization that empowers the Asian community in North America. As a videographer for Kollaboration, I want to show people that this community has a great amount of creative talent. Naturally, Kollaboration also offers amazing networking opportunities.

2. What one word would you describe this organization and why?

One word to describe Kollaboration in my eyes would be well….collaboration (or should I spell it with a K?). As confusing this might sound, there is an enourmous amount of collaborating in Kollaboration. We are always exchanging ideas from the brainstorming and pre-production process, to the actual production and editing of a video for Kollaboration. The videos we made for Kollaboration wouldn’t be possible without…collaboration!

3. What one word would you describe yourself and why?

One word to describe myself? Humbled. I believe that I cannot be at the place where I am right now without God. From my application process going into film production at York, to now being a freelance cinematographer and being a part of Kollaboration once again..it was not done by my strength alone, but through Him.

4. Name three of your successes.

Three of my successes..well..I did eat 5 bowls of bibimbap in one sitting before. But if that doesn’t count…
-not really a success, I had the opportunity to meet the Queen and say grace for her lunch at Pinewood Toronto Studios
-having the opportunity to spend a night and learn from Christopher Doyle, a talented cinematographer who I look up to (except his heavy drinking!)
-having a great group of family and friends who constantly support me

These are more blessings than successes but definitely things I will never forget!

This photo pretty much sums up who I am…awkward and confused…yup.

Posted on June 15, 2012, in Featured. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

