Composer and Vocalist: Kenneth Yeung

Meet Kenneth Yeung, a vocalist and composer who brings a unique, authentic spin on acapella arrangements. See him live at the Kollaboration Koffeehouse – only a few days away!

1) Tell us a little bit about yourself.
My name is Kenneth Yeung, I’m a singer from Toronto.  I’ve been singing and composing for various local jazz and R&B groups for many years now.  These days I’m creating acapella arrangements live, using just my voice, a microphone and a loop machine.”

2) What inspired you to become a singer?
I grew up listening to groups like Boyz II Men, and jazz greats like Bobby McFerrin and Take 6.  They inspire my music.  But my biggest inspiration is my high school music teacher.  She taught me what it means to work hard at something and about the importance of being yourself.”

3) Define success.
To me, success simply means finding something that you’re passionate about, something you love doing, and being able to use that to have a positive influence on other people.”

4) Do you have any advice for API (Asian and Pacific Islanders) youth aspiring to become artists?
My advice is the same for anyone: don’t worry about everyone else and just focus on what you do best.  Be the best at being you.”

5) Favourite song of all-time?
Too many to list!”

Enjoy drinks, food, and live music this Friday, August 3rd!

Posted on July 31, 2012, in Community, Daily Dose, Featured, Inspiration, Kollaboration, Kollaboration Toronto Event, Local Talent and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

