Musician, Singer, Songwriter: Ryan Flores

Meet musician, singer, songwriter and Kollaboration Koffee House performer, Ryan Flores!

Ryan Flores
1) Tell us a little bit about yourself.
“My name is Ryan Flores, and I’m an independent musician, singer, and songwriter from Toronto, Ontario. Some say I’m known for my very uplifting, honest, and relatable original music, most of which revolve around the genres of pop, R & B, acoustic, and some contemporary folk. I’m mainly inspired by artists who sing on a more inspirational, personal, and original level. As a songwriter, I always seek to fully capture the universal spirit and language of music as a way to express my own experiences, thoughts, feelings, and stories.”

2) What inspired you to become a singer?
“My initial inspiration to sing and learn to play guitar came from my father, who was an avid karaoke singer himself. Furthermore, pop and R & B music of the late 1990s and early 2000s that captured my interest are also what motivated me to build my ability and skill in singing and guitar playing. I also credit my dive into singing to the many independent artists that I found and followed on YouTube. Their drive to become known as independent artists through their unique and relatable original music, and the success they’ve achieved from it, is something that I hope to follow through with and achieve myself.”

3) Define success.
“I believe that success is defined by and revolves around three things: initiative, dedication, and humility. To be successful, you have to be able to take initiative. If you want something, it’s better to do something about it than to wait around for it to just appear in front of you. It’s great when people around you acknowledge what you want to achieve and even offer to help, but that won’t happen if you don’t make the first move. And once you make that first move, you have to always remain dedicated. Although barriers can get in the way between where you are and where you hope to be, never lose sight of your goal. Always try to keep a positive attitude, and always stay committed. The last thing is humility. Always thank the people around you that have helped and supported you along the way, and be modest. One last thing about success is that even though it seems that it’s all about reaching your ultimate goal, in the end, it is really about the pursuit, the chase, the journey to your destination, as well as your positivity and enjoyment along the way, that ultimately defines success.”

4) Do you have any advice for API (Asian and Pacific Islanders) youth aspiring to become artists?
“There are two pieces of advice that I have received from notable figures over my pursuit as an independent artist that I would like to share. The first thing is to be original. Yes, it is alright to take cues and inspiration from your favourite artists, but it is also important to set yourself apart from the rest of the crowd, to be unique. In the end, you want to create an identity that others can easily recognize, and instantly attach that identity to you. The second thing is to always be respectful and humble. Always thank the people that have helped and supported you, and never fail to realize that there’s always room for improvement, because ultimately, that’s how we grow as artists, through our mistakes and downfalls. The moment you admit to yourself that you’re “the best”, and that you’re “humble”, is the very moment that you lose that humility and make a mistake.”

5) Favourite song of all-time?
” ‘Tangled Up’ by Jesse Barrera”

Posted on July 20, 2012, in Featured, Kollaboration, Kollaboration Toronto Event, Local Talent and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

