Daily Dose: Public Pianos

I was walking by the Royal Ontario Museum and I heard some oddly, poorly played piano notes. Upon passing by the actual piano, I realize that the notes were being played by two very young children who must have been as curious as I was when I saw that the piano was just sitting outside unprotected. Painted on the front of the piano were the words “Play me I’m Yours.” I decided to look into this and it turns out that this is an internationally known series of artwork called Street Pianos by the British artist, Luke Jerram. He has pianos on all of the major continents and if you happen to come across one, you’re welcome to play as well as you want for as long as you want. Each piano is decorated by local artists and the community they are situated in. This endeavor brings both music and art to the community and undoubtedly brings people closer together. For those wondering how a piano sitting in some public place can be art, this is technically a form of audio installation art that relies heavily on audience participation. Personally I find it to be very successful, especially with bridging the world of music with the world of art.

http://www.streetpianos.com/


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FwQMkEo-BZI&feature=relmfu


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zvf1sAusvRg&feature=player_embedded

 

About Hunter Lee

I am a volunteer for Kollaboration Toronto

Posted on July 19, 2012, in Community, Daily Dose and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

