Daily Dose: Be Yourself

“If somebody likes me, I want them to like the real me, not what they think I am. And I don’t want them to carry it around inside. I want them to show me, so I can feel it, too. I want them to be able to do whatever they want around me”

– Steven Chbosky

At some time or another, you’ve probably had someone ask you how they should act around someone they like. Some people answer that question with some sort of elaborate strategy to present the person who wants to make a good impression, as someone who’s really charming, capable, has perfect timing, etc. But in my world, with my relationships, things aren’t so complicated. I only have one rule for myself and one phrase of advice: be yourself. It’s that simple. When you aren’t shrouded with calculated charm and tact, the people who you’re meant to be friends with will show up.

Posted on July 9, 2012, in Daily Dose, Inspiration, Kollaboration and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

