Featured Fridays: Stephanie Lauren Choi

1. Why do you want to be a part of Kollaboration?

Joining Kollaboration last year actually happened out of the blue! One random day, I received an e-mail from one of the team members regarding volunteer recruitment for the 2011 show. At first, I was a little creeped out — I was like, “How did they get my e-mail…? This is a little scary!”. But then, I reminded myself of the current social-networking century that we’re living in and that thought shifted back to one that was a little more normal. I’ve always been a huge, huge, HUGE fan of the arts, as I have been very immersed in the culture growing up, and as an individual passion as well. I decided to give volunteering for Kollab a try and since then, I fell in love with my co-members, the team, the talent, the performers, and just the whole scene itself. And so, I decided to come back for Round 2, and it’s been nothing short of AWESOME so far!

2. What one word would you describe this organization and why?

LOVELY! This is my second year with Kollaboration, and although there are new faces members joining in each year, the whole organization seems to be just… lovely, and manages to stay lovely. I think it’s the general friendly and lively community that Kollaboration attracts, and the mutual passion for the arts and entertainment and culture that brings us all together. Every one I’ve met through Kollaboration are all motivated and hard-working individuals, all striving for a goal. Because we have these things in common, we are able to embrace the differences we each carry, and use them to expand and grow together as a community — that’s what I LOVE about living in such a diverse city like Toronto, and that’s what’s soooo LOVELY about Kollaboration!

3. What one word would you describe yourself and why?

Dreamer! I’m a big, big, big dreamer. I’ve probably spent 3/4 of my life, dreaming about possibilities and all the things I’ve wanted to be and the places I’ve ever wanted to end up at. Some people think it’s a waste of time, but as long as it doesn’t get in the way of you actually doing things and you know your limits, I think it’s very important to be a dreamer at heart! It motivates you to go out and experience life through a more daring and exciting lens. Although some dreams might be unrealistic, it’s never bad to “dream big”, as they say. It lets you step out of your comfort zone, try out things you’ve always wanted to do, and brings you that much closer to having a much, much shorter “I wish I could have…”-List of Regrets. I believe God has blessed us all with such AMAZING lives, that we need to put our best foot (or just both feet) forward, go out there, and CHANGE THE WORLD with the gifts we’ve been given, even in the smallest of ways… like holding the door open for a stranger that has been having a horrible day!

4. Name three of your successes.

1 – Surviving at U of T (at least, so far…) 2 – Meeting such beautiful and amazing people over the course of my life, aaand 3 – staying true to myself in my passion, beliefs, and the person that I am.

This is a picture of two beautiful kids I met during a missions trip to a Native reserve in Wikwemikong, Ontario. Getting to know these young and energetic, but delightful souls in full bloom, was truly a life-changing experience!

Posted on May 4, 2012, in Featured. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Awwww they are SO CUTE!!
    Sounds like you have a great team 🙂

Leave a Reply

