FEATURED WEDNESDAYS: Jess Cruz

Why do you want to be part of Kollaboration?

Kollaboration gives people a chance to showcase their talents on and off the stage. My love for music, art, and spreading awareness influenced my decision to volunteer. The Kollaboration staff makes sure that their volunteers are taken care of. The overall organizational culture drives the group’s passion even further. I respect that.

The slogan, “Empowerment through entertainment” connects the performers with the audience and vice versa. Kollaboration not only showcases, but CELEBRATES culture, arts, and God-given talents. We just started, and I can see the passion, motivation, and perseverance in each person on the team. I’m looking forward to the rest of the summer until the show!

What one word would you describe this organization and why?

UNITY. People of different strengths and weaknesses come together to put on an awesome show and perform for the audience. Behind the scenes, Executive, Marketing, External, Creative, Program, Sponsorship, HR, and Volunteers collaborate and support the journey. It’s family.

What one word would you describe yourself and why?

Chameleon. (Metaphorically speaking, not the physical reptile LOL). I adapt to different situations based on the environment. I take it as a blessing that I’ve been able to relate many life situations, regardless of the outcome. (This goes for everyone as well).

I’m also pretty random. One day I could be watching a live symphony, the next day I’ll be watching Wrestlemania and screaming my head off, or just laughing at something that happened years ago.

Regardless, things always change. We eventually learn to accept and adapt.

Name three of your successes.
– Balancing academics, work, and extracurriculars
– Going against my parents’ wishes of becoming a doctor, lawyer, accountant (any traditional stereotypes. (But listen to your parents otherwise! lol) .I love what I’m studying, the people I meet, and organizations I’m a part of (like Kollaboration . It’s a journey full of risks and mysteries. Success (or the Kobe System’s definition Success at success at success) reveals itself as satisfaction in faith, daily life, family, and the simple things. Money will follow hard work and consistency.
– At the end of the day, sincerity, honesty, respect, forgiveness and service truly humbles me.

Picture that describes me:

– I don’t know why I did this. I thought it was funny at the moment to use flowers as dummbells but no one else did (haha). I’m more innovative than this, I swear! XD

Posted on May 2, 2012, in Featured. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

