Musician, Producer, and Composer: The Theorist

APRIL 12, 2012: Toronto’s very own local talent proves that you can make it big worldwide.

Check out my interview with The Theorist below!

_______________________

“I used to own a pet turtle but I had to let him go because I felt like he was trapped.”

Being trapped is something The Theorist, Henderson Nguyen does not tolerate. Being in a comfort zone is not allowed. His world is meant to be explored.

The Theorist has explored this world in ways that the average 24 year old has not. Since the age of 5, he has taken piano lessons at the Royal Conservatory of Music until  he was 17 years old.  From there, he graduated from McMaster University with a degree in Music Education and Theory. And for the final bang, he attended Metalworks Institute of Sound and Music Production for Music Production and Engineering. “Hmmm… I must have been playing at least 12 000 – 15 000 hours on the piano to this date. That sounds about right.”

This is the definition of talent. Thousands of hours devoted to his craft and passion. But he also shares something that puts him above the rest. He has perfect pitch – which is a very rare ability where a person can identify or re-create any given musical note without the benefit of an external source. This is ability gifted to 1/100 000 people. With this killer combination of experience and talent, The Theorist is guaranteed to accomplish his dreams.

Starting with his youtube channel (Click here http://www.youtube.com/user/EDxHENDY ), he has 3469 subscribers, with 887, 314 video views, and over 33 videos of piano covers. He left a strong impact in the YouTube world. Following such great support, The Theorist launched his own EP called THE ASCENSION (Download here http://www.thextheorist.com). With over 300 downloads, this is the ascension to get to where he wants to be.

What are you currently working on?

“I am composing music for a short film that my friend is working on for a project. A girl from England also contacted me through YouTube and wanted to work on a song together. It’s my first time working with someone outside of Toronto! Hmm.. I’m working on my next EP which should be coming out near August.”

What goals do you have?

“They keep changing!!! One minute I want to be a producer,  or maybe a composer, and some days I want to be a performer. But I also really like writing music. Who knows! But maybe five years from now, I’d like to see myself somewhere in New York. But of course I would return to Mississauga and Toronto and start my own movement here. But I want to go to New York to learn the business, contracts, and labels. Maybe take a course in symphony music or film scoring.”

What advice do you have for aspiring musicians or artists?

“I actually learned this from the producer of the The Weeknd. I’ve met up with him a few times and he taught me that you have to get out of your comfort zone; get out there, move away from home if you have to, because you will never learn anything if you are glued in your comfort zone. He actually left Calgary and now he’s a big time producer. That’s sort of why I want to leave and go to New York.”

What is your strength?

“Ohhh, well lifting weights, pushing cars… I don’t know! Can you be specific?”

Ahhhh, okay what is your strongest personality trait?

“Hmmm, I think I’m optimistic. I’m not negative. I am always a positive type of person who looks forward to future. I don’t give up on others or myself.”

Okay time for the silly questions! If you were an ice cream flavour, what would it be?

“Mango! I always eat that at all-you-can-eat-sushi.”

What’s your favourite animal?

“The turtle. It is so mysterious and mystical. It’s a very spiritual animal and sometimes…I know this is silly… but I can feel his power!” 

If you could trade places with any other person for a week, famous or not famous, living or dead, real or fictional. with whom would it be?

“Frederic Chopin. He is my biggest influence in music and why I am doing what I am. He passed away in 1849, but he was known as a poet of the piano. I’d like to think of myself as the Chopin of Technology in music. I am extremely influenced by him.”

Check out his most successful and important pieces of work.

Some of his original work

Kollaboration Toronto would like to thank The Theorist for this up-close and personal interview and wishes him all the success in the world. We hope you all are inspired to do what you love.The Kollaboration TO blog has 1000 views to date and with readers from Canada, US, UK, Switzerland, Dominica, and Korea, we’re here to promote our local talent.

Empower through entertainment.

Annie

Posted on April 12, 2012, in Local Talent. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. “Imperfect Mine” is so haunting – I love it. Captivates you from the start. This is something worthy of the Weeknd to use as his next single.

Leave a Reply

