FEATURED WEDNESDAYS: June Park

June Park has been working with Kollaboration Toronto as the Director of Human Resources. Learn more about her here!

1. Why do you want to be part of Kollaboration?

This is my fourth year partaking in Kollaboration and its mission statement will always resonate deeply within me. Granted our community has achieved its solidarity over time, but stereotypes of Asians continue to be perpetuated in the media, ethnic glass ceilings still obstruct us in different career fields, and sometimes our own passivity of which we’ve long since accepted inhibits us from having our voices heard. Not only does Kollaboration provide an opportunity to address these issues, but it’s an inexplicable feeling to work with like-minded people who can share your passion for change. I absolutely adore my team this year and I’m thankful to have joined again.

2. What one word would you describe this organization and why?

Community. Kollaboration is more than just a professional talent show regardless of the hype, sponsors or special guests who attend. Empowerment is derived from a communal movement and that’s exactly what we intend to develop through Kollaboration.

3. What one word would you describe yourself and why?

I’m a dork. I get peeved when asked to attend a party the same night I’m finishing my video game; I weep after a sad anime or RPG; I read mangas religiously; I enjoy studying hip hop; I bawled during Derrick Rose’s MVP speech, and the list people have come up with goes on…

4. Name three of your successes.

Well, they’re actually too personal to disclose, haha, but I can warmly say that life has been great and I’ve accomplished things I thought I never would. It’s all thanks to continuous prayer, my loved ones and hard work.

June Park wrapped up in a photo

What others have said about June:

“There’s no one else who can carry the room like June can. She has this ability to make a room laugh with her awkwardness, scare people with her aggressive personality and motivate others to become highly involved in Kollaboration. She’s the best!” – Annie Tran

Thank you June for being the Mommy of Kollaboration!

Posted on April 11, 2012, in Featured, Kollaboration Fam. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

