Daily Dose: Quote of the Day

“In the short term, it would make me happy to go play outside. In the long term, it would make me happier to do well at school and become successful. But in the VERY long term, I know which will make better memories.”

– Bill Watterson

For most of my friends and I, it’s exam period – which means [attempts to] study day in and day out. I would love to go out and soak up the sun, on the beautiful days that always come during exam time when we’re stuck inside studying, and, frankly, do anything BUT study. But exam period is only about three weeks long – three weeks until summer, when I can actually go do all the things I want without sacrificing my grades. I have a lot of year-long classes, so to skip out on my review means wasting a whole year’s worth of readings, essays, and late nights staying up working…and that just isn’t worth a couple day’s worth of fun.

I have a lot of friends graduating from high school this year, and like them, I thought that high school was a tedious waste of time. But what I learned is that all the little homework assignments, tests, and essays didn’t always amount to learning a lot about any subject, but rather, a build-up of habits. Those habits are what have been getting me through university. While I might not be loving all my classes right now, I know that doing the work to do well in these classes will build even better habits, which in the “VERY long term” will make for better memories, and ultimately, be the only things that keep me afloat when everything else falls through.

As Steve Jobs said, “you can’t connect the dots looking forward; you can only connect them looking backwards. So you have to trust that the dots will somehow connect in your future.”
For me, I have a simple faith that working hard will pay off. No matter how much work is required, being prepared has paid off for me in ways that I could never imagine, and will continue to surprise me in the future.

Good luck on exams, everyone!

(Submitted by Amy Wong)

Posted on April 9, 2012, in Daily Dose. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

