Wednesday, April 11th, 2012: Day of Pink

Next Wednesday, April 11th, 2012 is Day of Pink to stand up against Bullying, Discrimination, Homophobia and Transphobia in schools and communities. 

http://www.dayofpink.org/

As co-author of Kollaboration TO’s blog, I want to share my stories of being bullied and being racially discriminated against.

When I was younger, I was bullied for having a big forehead. Grade 6 was the hardest for me. I remember I was at my locker putting my things away, and two people walked by me, pointed and snickered, “look at her big forehead! Ewww!” Another day that is in my memory, is walking home from school. A boy in the same grade as me grabbed onto one of the plush keychains I had hanging off my backpack and threw it to his friend. He then started making fun of my forehead. I remember trying to get my keychain back, but I never did. He just kept throwing it around until I gave up and just walked away. To this day, I still remember how awful that experience was.

About a year ago at work, I had a confrontation with a customer. I was following policy, which she was unhappy with. I tried to keep a positive attitude and tried to handle it to the best of my ability. But she was agitated.  I moved onto the next customer and as she walked away, she looked me straight in the eye and said, “Go back to China.”

To the readers, I am now 23 years old and I am a Vietnamese-Canadian with a big forehead. I know what it feels like when others put you down. I hope you all participate with me on Wednesday, April 11th, 2012 by wearing something pink. If you have any stories, please share it in the comments section below. Together, let’s work towards a greater and better understanding to make sure discrimination and bullying stops.

Kollaboration invites everyone to participate. This is a worldwide movement supporting the arts and community through media. This is an event that happens in Los Angeles, New York and now Toronto. We encourage everyone to become part of this movement. Kollaboration is a cultural mosaic, who welcomes everyone of any kind of descent to audition, become involved and be part of our family. 

Thank you for reading,

Annie

A note from June Park, Human Resources director of Kollaboration Toronto: We’re first and foremost an organization that aims to promote healthy and accurate portrayals of Asian Americans/Canadians:http://www.kollaboration.org/about/kollaboration. Though we really do welcome everyone, our solidarity and presence in the media, politics and society continues to be our primary driving force in the name of empowerment.

Posted on April 5, 2012, in Inspiration and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

