Annie’s Daily Dose

What does this word mean?

humble (hum’bel) adj. 1. not proud or arrogant; modest 2. courteously respectful: in my humble opinion 3. to make meek: to humble one’s heart

Why does it matter?

“In reality there is perhaps not one of our natural passions so hard to subdue as pride. Disguise it, struggle with it, beat it down, stifle it, mortify it as much as one pleases, it is still alive, and will every now and then peep out and show itself…For even if I could conceive that I had completely overcome it, I should probably be proud of my humility.”

– Benjamin Franklin

I can be a stubborn person with lots of pride. I get into situations where I know I am wrong. Whether in relationships, friendships, education or career, sometimes I make some mistakes that are downright humiliating. I’m not the best at everything I do. In fact, I think my weakness is that I’m a slow learner. But I understand that everything takes a lot of hard work. Once I put the work and time into something I’m doing, I know I will improve. I try to put my pride aside and instead be more humble by laughing at myself, learning from my mistakes and becoming better. Just because I’m not the best at something, doesn’t give me the excuse to give up. Instead it makes me want to want to try as hard as I can, because it’s all about being the best I can be.

Annie

For more of my work, visit: http://hideawayphotography.tumblr.com/

Posted on April 5, 2012, in Daily Dose and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

